Click Cover to Read Digital Edition



Shared Servicing & Outsourcing
Feb. 23-24
San Francisco
ABA Mutual Community Bank Conference
March 1-5
Gaylord Palms Resort
ABA Mutual Community Bank Conference
March 22 & 23
Marriott Marquis
Washington, D.C.
Card Forum & Expo
April 8-10
More events >  

<- Back

Share |

Print Friendly and PDF

Texas Bankers Association Elects 2013-2014 Officers


May 16 - The membership of the Texas Bankers Association elected officers for the 2013-2014 fiscal year at its annual convention in Austin May 3. Elected were chairman, Ignacio Urrabazo Jr., president and CEO of Commerce Bank, Laredo; vice chair, John Snider, vice chairman and CEO of Shelby Savings Bank, SSB in Center; and treasurer, Ken Burgess Jr., chairman of FirstCapital Bank of Texas in Midland. The officersí terms are from June 1 through May 31, 2014.

Urrabazo, who has a bachelorís degree from the University of Texas at El Paso and a masterís degree from the University of Texas at San Antonio, began his banking career in 1970 with State National Bank in El Paso. He joined National Bank of Commerce in 1977 and Commerce Bank in 1983. He has also been very active in the American and Texas Bankers Associations, as well as the FDIC Advisory Committee on Community Banking and the Texas Department of Banking Commissionerís Advisory Council.

Snider, a graduate of Howard Payne University, began his banking career at Southern Savings and Loan Association, where he worked from 1970 through 1986, eventually becoming president and chief operating officer. Between 1986 and 1990, he was president and CEO of Sabine Valley Savings and Loan Association. He joined Shelby Savings Bank, SSB, in 1990 and is currently vice chairman and CEO. He is also vice chairman and CEO of the holding company, Shelby Bancshares Inc.

Burgess, a 1978 graduate of Texas Tech University with a bachelorís degree in accounting, started out at the original First National Bank of Midland. He also worked for United Bank in Midland, Texas National Bank of Waco and Security State Bank of Abilene before forming the First National Bank of Midland, now FirstCapital Bank of Texas, in 1998. Burgess is chairman of the Americaís Community Bankers Council of the American Bankers Association and a member of the ABA Regulatory Relations Task Force.