IBAT Elects Board Members

November 6 — The Independent Bankers Association of Texas recently held its 44th annual convention at La Cantera Resort and Spa in San Antonio. At this annual gathering attended by more than 600 community bankers and industry advocates, new officers and directors who will serve through 2018-2019 were elected and several awards were presented.

Ronnie Miller of Community National Bank in Hondo will serve the highest level of leadership as chairman. Other officers named to join Miller include Chairman-Elect Richard Scanio of American Bank in Corpus Christi and Secretary-Treasurer Brad Tidwell of Citizens National Bank in Henderson. Additionally, Joe Kim King of Texas Country Bancshares in Brady now serves as immediate past chairman. New directors Randy Garcia of Lytle State Bank in Lytle, Doak Hartley of Industry State Bank in Industry, Steve Retzloff of Allegiance Bank in Houston, Michael Scaief of Texas Regional Bank in Harlingen, Roger Williams of First National Bank in Sterling City and Mikel Williamson of Happy State Bank in Amarillo were added to the IBAT board.

Also presented during IBAT’s Annual Convention were the 2018 IBAT Chairman’s Award, 2018 IBAT President’s Award and 2018 Best of Community Banking Awards, as well as surprising two bankers as the newest inductees to IBAT’s Wall of Heroes and Legends of Texas Community Banking.

The IBAT Chairman’s Award is the association’s highest honor, and it is presented to an individual who has made an extraordinary contribution to the community banking industry. While this recognition generally goes to a banker, this year’s recipient is IBAT President and Chief Executive Officer Chris Williston, who will retire at the end of 2018 after nearly 30 years leading the association.

The IBAT President’s Award, which is given to an IBAT member that goes above and beyond in serving the community banking industry, IBAT and IBAT members, was presented to MG Architects, which will celebrate its 25th anniversary as an IBAT endorsed service provider next year. For nearly a quarter of a century, the firm has sponsored, exhibited and supported every possible IBAT event. In addition, it has helped countless Texas community banks create effective, economical banking environments that meet customers’ needs, represent the bank’s brand and increase performance.

Additionally, 21 Texas community banks received the Best of Community Banking (BOCB) Award. This award celebrates the outstanding accomplishments of IBAT member banks and the critical role they play in local communities across Texas. BOCB Awards are given in gold, silver or bronze in five categories: community service, financial literacy, architectural design, marketing and new this year, bank culture. They are judged on innovation and creativity, number of people impacted, and the success in fulfilling a community or internal need. This year’s “Best of Show” award, the overall winner, was given to Woodforest National Bank in The Woodlands for its community service program that helped customers and the community recover and rebuild following the devastation inflicted by Hurricane Harvey. Additionally, two “Community Spirit” awards were given to Legend Bank in Bowie for its architectural design program and First United Bank in Lubbock for its financial literacy program. All winners can be found at

Last but not least, Texas community banking legends J. Pat Hickman, chairman and chief executive officer at Happy State Bank in Amarillo, and Scott Heitkamp, president and chief executive officer at ValueBank Texas in Corpus Christi, were recognized as the newest inductees to the IBAT Wall of Heroes and Legends of Texas Community Banking at IBAT headquarters in Austin. This honor is reserved for special individuals who have greatly contributed to the strength of community banking in Texas.


  • Sign Up

  • Categories

  • Archive

Software: Kryptronic eCommerce, Copyright 1999-2019 Kryptronic, Inc. Exec Time: 0.066559 Seconds Memory Usage: 3.799812 Megabytes